SEAFMD became a formal OIE programme in 1994 with the establishment of the OIE Sub-Commission for South-East Asia. The Sub-Commission is chaired by the OIE with members comprising participating countries, ASEAN, the then Australian Government’s Overseas Aid Programme (AusAID), FAO and key donors. Under an agreement between the OIE and the Kingdom of Thailand, a Regional Coordination Unit (RCU) was established in Bangkok in 1997. Since its establishment, the RCU has been funded in the main by Australian Government’s Overseas Aid Program (AusAID) with in-kind assistance by the Department of Livestock Development (DLD) of Thailand. Other countries, including France, Japan, New Zealand and Switzerland, have provided support.Given the importance and success of SEAFMD, a number of national governments have invested strongly in FMD control. In addition, significant leverage has been obtained to support SEACFMD objectives from a range of regional and national projects funded by the EU, FAO, ADB and ACIAR for example.Since June 2011, the SEACFMD is being managed by the OIE Sub-Regional Representation for South-East Asia (SRR-SEA) in Bangkok under its umbrella programme called “Stop Trans-boundary Animal Disease and Zoonoses” (STANDZ) Initiative, funded by the Australian Government through the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT).